Primm Park is a 31 acre park that includes the historic Boiling Spring Academy (circa 1830) and five mounds from the Mound Builders circa 1200 A.D.), the last of prehistoric Native Americans to live in this area.
The park, designed to showcase both historic features, also connects, extends and acts as an entrance to the Brentwood Bikeway. The Little Harpeth River runs through the park.
Boiling Spring Academy, originally opened as a private school in 1833, has undergone an extensive restoration. Tuition was originally $8 per semester (about 5 months). The school has two rooms, one upstairs and one on the main floor. Six schools in Brentwood participate in the Boiling Spring Academy Classroom Project. Third grade students come to Boiling Springs Academy dressed in period clothes loaned to them by the Historic Commission. They spend the day much like the children of the 1800’s, being taught by schoolmarms and using slates and slate pens during their lessons.
The Indian mounds are part of the ceremonial mounds built by the Native American Mound Builders between 900 and 1450 AD. They built ceremonial buildings and homes on top of the mounds and used one as a burial mound. The mound clearly visible today was likely home to the tribal chief. The mounds have been studied and researched and some of the artifacts are now part of the Smithsonian Institution.